Is there some stipulation in the rules that fan interference rules don’t apply when the Yankees are batting or something? And do you really have to try to give them a second fake homer in an inning?
UPDATE: I agree with commenters that, at least, the call was defensible, although I think his glove was touched on the field of play the umpire may have been right to award the homer anyway.
UPDATE II: Bengie the wonder catcher!
UPDATE III: As I said before the series, Hamilton is clearly too injured to contribute much. This latest homer is central to my point.
UPDATE IV: Joba rules!